ceclogohome.gif - 1175 Bytes

History of the Chattanooga Engineers Club

The first general meeting of the Chattanooga Engineers Club was held on March 24, 1924 at Chattanooga's Park Hotel. Among its order of business was the approval of its recently drafted Constitution and By-Laws. O. J. Miller, Hydraulic Engineer of the Tennessee Electric Power Company is credited with being the architect and the driving force behind this nascent group of 18 members. In that first year membership grew to 70 and the second it grew to 97. By 1996 the count had reached 320 members.

From the beginning, its goal has been for members to learn about current developments and trends in science and technology and to encourage the exchange of knowledge and idea among friends and fellow engineers. Today, the Chattanooga Engineers Club ranks as one of the oldest technical societies in the United States that holds presentation meetings on a weekly basis. According to Robert J. Bradshaw, the Club's Historian Emeritus, there have been few times throughout these years that the Club has not held a meeting on Monday of each week. In the early years during the summer months visits were made to various industrial plants in lieu of the regular meeting. This practice continued on an occasional basis in later years. In 1958, visits to industrial plants in distant cities were incorporated with football game excursions. Trips to Knoxville, Atlanta and Birmingham were made. Enthusiastic groups of up to 100 participated in 1925. Copies of some of the activity reports for 1925 to 1940 are on file. The weekly Bulletin was begun November 1948 to announce coming programs and report activities of the Club and the Members.

The Engineering Scholarship Fund was established in April 1972 with donations to the fund made by Engineers Club members throughout the years. This fund currently supports scholarships to the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and Chattanooga State Community College. Occasionally additional scholarships are awarded as funds become available. It is apparent that since the death of Robert Bradshaw in 1972 a lot remains to be done to bring the history of the Engineers Club up to date. But it is hoped that this brief overview would encourage some of the current Club member to pick up the banner and shed further light into this interesting society.

Here's a link to an article about our Engineers Club history entitled "How early engineers shaped Chattanooga". The article was written Jim Frierson, our 2010 Philip Sutton People to People award recipient. It appeared in the Times Free press local history section to help kick off our 2014 E-week events.


And here is a list of all the presidents that have served the organization since its founding:

1924       O. J. Miller
1925       D. Hewitt Wood
1926       Harold C. Fiske
1927       Al G. Porzelius
1928       G. L. Davidson
1929       Emerson P. Poste
1930       J. W. Edwards
1931       H. H. Bailey
1932       W.G. Wilson
1933       L. G. Haller
1934       P. H. Wood
1935       William H. Sears
1936       Andrew J. Kelly
1937       W. Jess Brown
1938       C. E. McCashin
1939       Buford H. Martin
1940       Frank J. Stevens
1941       Richard B. Baston
1942       Edwin Harsh
1943       W. O. McCord, Jr.
1944       James M. Alexander
1945       Robert M. Farell
1946       Walter G. Davies, Sr.
1947       William O. Swan
1948       Rodney B. Rougelot
1949       A. R. McLain
1950       Edgar A. Rogers
1951       James F. Steffener
1952       John R. Kruse
1953       Charles P. Parsons
1954       John T. Maroney , Jr.
1955       L. F. Pohl
1956       Norbert Koch
1957       Robert V. Curtis
1958       Richard L. Culpepper
1959       Iley M. Barnes, Jr.
1960       Perry V. Lane
1961       Robert J. Bradshaw, Jr
1962       Paul H. Shroun
1963       Paul E. George
1964       Myron S. McCay
1965       Rufus G. Obrecht
1966       Paul H. Merriman
1967       James M. Anderson
1968       Roy E. McCollum
1969       Donald J. Mills
1970       Manville J. Mayfield
1971       George A. Rutledge
1972       H. Glenn Blocker
1973       Lawrence A. Hoenig
1974       Jack W. Anderson
1975       Lynn D. Russell
1976       J. Hampton Barnett
1977       J. William Brooks III
1978       Fred W. Lupton II
1979       T. Warren Newberry
1980       Ronald B. Cox
1981       Almeda M. Fraizer
1982       James C. Stites
1983       Kenneth B. Garner
1984       Billy H. Pryor
1985       Charles T. Fox
1986       William Q. Gurley
1987       Thomas L. Lyons
1988       John M. Higgins
1989       William J. Hobbs
1990       Robert C. Tulis
1991       James R. Cunningham
1992       Jay E. Floyd
1993       Walter G. Davies, Jr.
1994       Ron A. Burton
1995       Ronald N. Fugatt
1996       Terry D. Reynolds
1997       Douglas L. Jacobs
1998       Jack A. Wagner
1999       Gregory R. Sedrick
2000       Ed Chapin
2001       Lulu Copeland
2002       Uwe Zitzow
2003       Steve McGuire
2004       Brad Baucom
2005       Tiffany Gibby
2006       Judy Driggans
2007       Stephen Smith
2008       Ron Bailey
2009       Jim Schwall
2010       Joe Robbins
2011       Ralph Boroughs
2012       Rebecca Balch
2013       Jerry McClanahan
2014       Tim Lee
2015       Harry Hawkins
2016       Stephen Stark
2017       Paul Snyder